Sunday Funday!!

PrintI try to use my Sundays for cooking meals for the week. I was able to knock out a couple of great Paleo meals that I’m going to share with you.

First I made Roasted Tomato Soup (Paleogrubs.com), which turned out fantastic! There wasn’t too much prep time as it only involves cutting up veggies, throwing them on a cookie sheet and placing them into the oven. In fact, this soup is very easy to make and super healthy! You can always add shredded chicken or crumbled sausage to it as well for a heartier soup.

roastedtomatosoup

While the soup was simmering on the stove I started on making a paleo meatloaf…This took a little more prep time, about fifteen minutes. I found this recipe at www.paleoplan.com. I reheated the meatloaf for dinner last night and cooked up some asparagus as a side dish. The meatloaf came out pretty darn good. It’s got a lot of flavor with a little kick to it. I actually made it with one pound of venison and a quarter pound of sausage…

CaptureNext up, a couple of days worth of lunches by simply sauteing up some chicken sausage, brussels sprouts, garlic and onion. First I blanched the Brussels sprouts for about four minutes and while I was doing that I was cooking the onion and sausage in a pan with some olive oil. I then added the Brussels sprouts and lastly the garlic… delicious and easy meal to get me through a couple of lunches this week.

IMG_8515

I typically make these  really great Sweet Potato and Apple Breakfast Patties – a recipe I found on www.paleomg.com. I can usually get five or six patties out of this so it lasts me all week! And I love them – I haven’t gotten sick of them yet!! I usually make mine with bison or venison mixed with sausage. They are great because they have apples and sweet potato mixed in, both very healthy. I think sweet potato is considered a super food as it has many health benefits.


sweet-potato-cakes-610x300

So that’s it! Just a peak into one of my Sundays as to how I prep for healthy eating during the week. It’s a lot of work but it’s worth it!

 

Leave a Reply

